The Art of Tomboy Style

tomboy styleSometimes I run across a blog with such a well expressed artistic aesthetic that I have to point it out.  Tomboy Style is one of those.  Go see for yourself. The content is creative, and the concept well executed.  Posts cover archival and modern style and there’s fascinating history. I browsed without tiring for quite a while.  See?  A blog can be a piece of art, too. (Above: Lantern slide from University of Vermont’s digital archives)

There are 9 comments

  1. The Magpie

    This image is so striking — it makes me want to know more about each of those women. Oh, and a pair of those boots! There are so many treasures to be uncovered in archival collections, and lantern slides are one of the more delicate formats. So glad this one survived to be digitized.

    Like

    1. boomerontario

      I so agree about the potential of archives, so many of them now digitized. Those women also struck me as almost ageless. They could just as easily be an Instagram from a contemporary summer. Interesting comment, thanks.

      Like

  2. peruvianashop

    Hi Gobal Art Junkie… I really love the images you post – just wondering how you manage to display them so large on the homefeed page? My images are high-res, but they come out so tiny! Your help is greatly appreciated!

    Like

    1. boomerontario

      Hi – I just looked at your theme, and in the theme showcase, it shows larger pictures. So, when you load a photo into your blog post, there’s a box on the right hand side at the bottom that allows you to pick thumbnail, medium, large and (sometimes) original size. Check that out and make sure you’re enabling the size you want. Also, is your image big enough to begin with? You can see its dimensions in the image loader on each post, when you put it into the blog post. If you’re loading from a URL, I’m not sure what happens, since I never do that. And also, the WP support forums (for the Triton Lite theme) can help you further if none of this works. Hope that helps a bit?

      Like

      1. peruvianashop

        Hello… Thank you very much for looking into this. Yes, my original images are quite large and I selected the largest size when loading the photos. I guess I shall contact the support forum next. Thanks again for taking the time to help me out. Cheers!

        Like

          1. peruvianashop

            Thank you! I’ve left my question on the Triton forum… I hope someone comes to the rescue! I also like your blog! I will tell my friend about it – she buys and sells Canadian art with her husband.

            Like

What do you think?

